3rd T20I: India eye 3-0 sweep over Australia, take winning momentum into Test series

India will look to complete a 3-0 sweep of Australia in the T20I series when they face the hosts in the final match of the white-ball leg of the much-anticipated tour in Sydney on Tuesday.

3rd T20I: India eye clean sweep over Australia ahead of Test series. (AP Photo)
3rd T20I: India eye clean sweep over Australia ahead of Test series. (AP Photo)


  • India will be looking to complete 2nd T20I series whitewash in Australia
  • India sealed the ongoing series on Sunday when they won the 2nd T20I
  • India seek 3-0 finish to T20Is with one eye on much-anticipated Test series

Buoyed by the convincing wins in the opening two T20Is, Virat Kohli-led India will fancy their chances to complete a 3-0 sweep against Australia in the T20I series when they take on the hosts in the final white-ball game of the tour in Sydney on Tuesday.

Team India will be eyeing their second T20I series whitewash over Australia in Australia after the 3-0 result MS Dhoni's boys got back in early 2016 when they toured Down Under only for two limited-overs series.

The Virat Kohli-led tourists defeated the hosts in the first two games in Canberra and Sydney by 11 runs and six wickets. Notably, the Indian team turned a corner in the final ODI in Canberra after a couple of crushing defeats in the first two ODIs.

A 3-0 win would be the perfect booster shot for India before the all-important Test series. Going into the third game, India is unlikely to tinker with the winning combination, which has excelled in all the departments.

Notably, India have never lost a T20I match at the Sydney Cricket Ground. After clinching victories in 2016 and 2018, India continued the streak on Sunday at the iconic venue.

Australia will eye revival of fortunes ahead of the Border-Gavaskar series after losing the momentum in the limited-overs series. However, the Australian team can breathe a sigh of relief as most of their Test specialists will not have the scars of a clean sweep when they take on India under the lights at the Adelaide Oval, starting 17 December.

The likes of Hardik Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan, Manish Pandey and Yuzvendra Chahal will be playing their last match on the Australia tour on Tuesday.

Both the teams have been preserving their top fast bowlers (Pat Cummins and Jasprit Bumrah) in the limited-overs series ahead of the four-Test series that begins on December 17.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur.

Australia: Matthew Wade (Captain), Sean Abbott, Mitchell Swepson, Alex Carey, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Steven Smith, Marcus Stoinis, D'Arcy Short, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye.